Bench Press - 'Not The Past, Can’t Be The Future' LP (Black)

Not The Past, Can’t Be The Future LP (Black)

On their second full-length, Bench Press have refined their sound by maintaining some the frantic aggression of their self-titled debut, but have also brought a tighter approach to both melodicism and structure. Almost every song clocks in at under three minutes as a testament to their ‘don’t bore us, get to the chorus’ philosophy. Bench Press project the wirey minimalism of early Talking Heads and Devo through a lens of heavier late-80s contemporary post-punk in a distinct shade of Melbourne garage. What was once easily categorised as post-punk can just as accurately be described as agitated, stabbing pop music. Recorded & mixed by Paul Maybury (Cable Ties, Loose Tooth, Rocket Science). Mastered by Mikey Young. For fans of: IDLES, EDDY CURRENT SUPPRESSION RING, WIRE ++


  1. Respite 03:53
  2. Dreaming Again 02:56
  3. Two Years 02:42
  4. Good Guy 02:59
  5. Better Mirror 02:15
  6. Amalgamation 03:33
  7. Old. Self. Doubt 02:48
  8. Baby Steps 02:25
  9. Enough 02:25
  10. Take It Slow 03:20
  11. Home 03:21

released June 28, 2019

Recorded and mixed by Paul Maybury // Mastered by Mikey Young // Artwork by Chris Drane. Out via Poison City Records.