Gela (Orange LP)

$45.00 AUD $50.00
| /

Baker Boy - Gela (Orange LP)


  1. Announcing The Journey (performed by Glen Gurruwiwi)
  2. Survive ft. Uncle Jack Charles
  3. My Mind ft. G Flip
  4. Ride ft. Yirrmal
  5. Butterflies
  6. Cool As Hell
  7. Move
  8. Headphones ft. Lara Andallo
  9. Somewhere Deep ft. Yirrmal
  10. Funk Wit Us
  11. Stupid Dumb
  12. Meditjin ft. JessB
  13. Ain't Nobody Like You ft. Jerome Farah
  14. MYWD

Limited 180gm Orange Vinyl!

Gela. Say it out loud, say it with pride, with the honour and respect it deserves: GE-lah. You’ve met the bright-eyed, ferociously talented rapper Danzal Baker under a handful of names — the Fresh Prince of Arnhem Land, Baker Boy, the “proud blak Yolngu boy with the killer flow”. Now, he’s ready for you to meet him as Gela: his skin name, and one of the truest markers of his identity. Miles Davis famously said that an artist should only release a self-titled record when they know themselves well, know themselves truly, and when their music can reflect that. So there was only one obvious, perfect choice for the title of Baker Boy’s long-awaited debut, a blistering, joyful record that paints the young rapper more vividly than ever before: Gela. “Gela is who I am,” Baker Boy says, “and it’s my story.”

Baker Boy’s debut album includes favourites like the feel-good, ARIA Gold-certified “Cool as Hell”, “Meditjin ft JessB”, “Move”, “Ride ft. Yirrmal”, and latest lead single “My Mind ft. G Flip”.

Gela speaks Baker Boy’s truth, freely and brilliantly. It is a definitive portrait of an artist who’s already shown himself to be a vital, powerful representation of Australia’s past and our future.