Ocean From Above LP

$25.00 AUD
| /

Track List:

1. Ruby 03:47
2. Original Shape 03:34
3. Written Word 03:07
4. Fading Away 04:21
5. All For One 05:30
6. Burning Bright 03:11
7. Anhedonia 03:26
8. Unclaimed Luggage 05:25
9. It's Spring 02:19
10.Broth 07:10

Following on from acclaimed albums, Goodbye Weather and Council Tree, and his lauded solo EP debut, Seagull release their third full length album, Ocean From Above, self-produced by Chris Bolton and mixed by Colin Leadbetter (Whitley, Dirt Farmer).

Evolving since 2006, Seagull is a band fronted by songwriter and classically trained guitarist Chris Bolton, based in Melbourne, Australia. His first EP caught the ears of radio presenters across the country, including Zan Rowe who described single Train Tracks as “…beautiful stuff. This guy is definitely one to watch.”

Moving away slightly from the intensity of moments on sophomore album Council Tree, Ocean From Above lulls listeners with it’s delicate arrangements and meditative spaces. The first single Ruby is accompanied by a languid, haunting video by photographer and filmmaker Stephanie Boyle, featuring a cool morning canoe journey on Swan Bay. Bolton sings songs composed in the dark cabins of night trains and empty beaches, songs about overworked taxi drivers and farmer’s wives, pre-emptive breakups, solitary singing and distortions from the void, pushing his songwriting to a new level, touching on joy, heartbreak, mania and toil, taking listeners to contemplative emotional places.

Ocean From Above is an emotionally and musically rich album from a songwriter and band that have honed their craft over several acclaimed releases, touring with such luminaries as Seeker Lover Keeper, Bearhug, Whitley and Kid Sam.